Love’s Best Kept Secret

Making Love Last Forever

Pg. 3 of Making Love Last Forever – Gary Smalley

If I were to ask the question: “What is human life’s chief concern?” one of the answers we should receive would be: “It is happiness.” How to gain, how to keep, how to recover happiness, is in fact for most…at all times the secret motive of all they do, and of all the are willing to endure. -William Jones

In the book, he describes the first step toward fulfillment and happiness with your spouse as “learning to love life itself”.

11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13I can do everything through him who gives me strength. Phil. 4:11-13

Here is a great example for this, “Think in terms of the oxygen-mask instructions given by airline flight attendants. They say that passengers flying with children or others who need assistance should fasten their own masks first before trying to help someone else. If you don’t make the choice to reach for oxygen for yourself, there’s no point in your trying to help anyone else.” (Gary)

12 Comments »

  1. Dan O said

    This book appears to be outlined very nicely. The guy seems to be highly organized in his communications. He tells you what he is going to talk about, then talks about it, then tells you what he said. Its a “learning” book from cover to cover.

    The verse I referred to Phi. 4:11-13 could be an in depth study on its own. It goes well with the theme of the book – “learning to love life itself.”

    He (Paul) says he is instructed to be able to handle both situations. And learn to be satisfied under any circumstances.

    The two situations are described in the Lexicon as:
    1. superabound, in excess,
    2. inferior, fall short, be deficient

    The obvious lesson to me, life has its ups and downs, its about how we go through the process. Paul is saying we can learn to be content even when you are humiliated and/or depressed. But there may be times which we excel living in prosperity. And we have to learn how to live in those circumstances as well.

  2. mhens said

    I think this will be a great book for study. living life content. that is a interesting and challenging concept, especially in todays world we we are always grapsing for more . I will be interested to hear more of what he and you have to say about the topic. bye.

  3. Excellent pieces. Keep posting such kind of information on your blog.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hi there, You’ve performed a great job. I will definitely digg it and in my opinion suggest to my friends.

    I am confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

  4. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this website.
    I really hope to see the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my very own website now 😉

  5. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and
    let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something
    too few folks are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I found this in my hunt for something concerning this.

  6. Hurrah, that’s what I was looking for, what a stuff! present here
    at this website, thanks admin of this site.

  7. I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this
    blog. I am hoping to see the same high-grade blog posts
    by you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities
    has encouraged me to get my very own website now 😉

  8. Amazing! Its actually amazing post, I have got much clear
    idea regarding from this article.

  9. htttp said

    We’re a bunch of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your website offered us with useful info to work on. You’ve done an impressive
    task and our entire group will be thankful to you.

  10. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will often come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a nice evening!

  11. This is the perfect blog for anybody who wants to understand this topic.
    You understand a whole lot its almost tough to argue with
    you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject that’s been discussed for ages.
    Excellent stuff, just excellent!

  12. Great post. I’m dealing with many of these issues as well..

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment